Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2008 · How to convert any Minolta MC/MD to EOS

rgallie
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to convert any Minolta MC/MD to EOS

Since the question of how to convert various Minolta MC/MD lenses to Canon EF mount comes up regularly, I thought I would post a bit about what I have done recently.

Some months ago while browsing for info on Minolta lenses, I came across a post with a different method for conversion. It required some minor machine work. But, my company happens to have a large machine shop so I could trade favors with a machinist friend. I am a computer server/network administrator/manager, not a machinist.

This link shows the basic steps on how to machine an M42 adapter to fit over a Minolta MC/MD mount. That gave me some ideas on how I could improve on it.

Note, this conversion can be done with ANY Minolta MC/MD lens. Minolta varied the details on just about every lens, but there were several designs with variations.

Here are four lenses that have been converted.

- 28mm f2 MC W Rokkor
- 24mm f2.8 MD (not quite finished)
- 58mm f1.2 MC Rokkor-PG
- 85mm f1.7 MC Rokkor

http://images43.fotki.com/v1327/photos/5/597106/2869556/28mm-vi.jpg

http://images39.fotki.com/v1283/photos/5/597106/2869556/24mm-vi.jpg

http://images42.fotki.com/v1320/photos/5/597106/2869556/58mm-vi.jpg

http://images42.fotki.com/v1311/photos/5/597106/2869556/85mm-vi.jpg

The very basic steps:

- Start with an M42 to EOS adapter.
- The machinist uses a lathe to cut off the flange plus another .5mm.
- The inside of the adapter is cut to match the Minolta mount. The fit should be tight and even at the bottom.