1       2       3              2446      
       2448              4533       4534       end

Mustang Air to Air: The Sequel

Shaggy Wolf
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2447 #1 · p.2447 #1 · Mustang Air to Air: The Sequel

Rodolfo Paiz wrote:
Very, very few dogs, of course. Only a couple that I can remember, and all those way back in the mists of time. I should have said "...even the eternally-awesome Red Hat...". Pardon the vague and insufficiently-clear phrasing.

Always knew you were a stand-up guy, Shaggy. Current or former employee? What area? Care to share some details of what you do (or did) at the world's first company to hit almost a billion dollars in annual sales while selling and/or supporting almost exclusively open-source products?

So I worship the company... sue me.

Current, started in Jan '09. I'm an Associate Systems Administrator in Engineering Operations, the group that supports the engineers. We maintain all of the test hardware, and the infrastructure that the engineers use to utilize it. We basically have this giant heterogeneous pool of hardware that the engineers can use to test whichever of our products they are working on. It's kind of a crazy environment, we hire some EXTREMELY passionate people, and things move at 900mph. With all of this discussion about iPads...one of our vendors donated an iPad2 for us to give away to our employees. That caused a huge stink, there are a lot of very vocal proponents of the Open Source way who were not too happy about the fact that we were - even inadvertently - supporting a rather closed product.

Personally, I run linux on most of my systems (2 laptops, and two dinky systems I'm using as servers), though I do have an old PPC based Mac Mini and a tower running Win7 - there are just some things that Linux can't do very well, yet, like modern gaming...