New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2005 · Re: Why jpegs are just junk files

Tim Wild
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Re: Why jpegs are just junk files

JPGs are great when used appropriately by people who understand them. The flaws have all been mentioned above, as well as the advantages.

A lot of professionals shoot purely in JPG, because they understand enough about them that it's not a problem. Sure, if you want to do major/multiple edits or major changes things won't look as good, but the thing about professionals is they tend to get things right in the camera. The time savings by shooting it right the first time is massive : all sharpening and white ballance is done for you, little or no post-processing is required. If you shoot RAW you often need to process the images individually or in small groups, tweaking each one, which takes a lot of time.

I'm relatively new to this, so I shoot RAW for anything important or difficult, which costs me time but can save my shot.

Feb 13, 2005 at 10:48 PM
Malcolm Stitt
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Re: Why jpegs are just junk files

Not sure if I agree with jpg=junk. Anything above 100% should be resampled not just zoomed.

I am of the opposite conclusion. I shoot Raw+JPG, and for many shots the jpg is good enough for web work or printing. I use raw when I need to. If my Canon s9000 printed from raw, I would leave them in raw, but it wants jpgs.

I used to use all RAW with my DRebel, since every shot needed tinkering with the exposure. With the 20D and my Oly8080 I find that jpg's are pretty good, so much less need for storing two files, converting, etc.

I always create jpgs at quality 10 or greater, never ever would use quality of 7.