New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2004 · canon 100mm 2.8 macro help

Tim Wild
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · canon 100mm 2.8 macro help

I'm a bit of a newbie at photography, so i'm looking for a little help re my next purchase.

I'm going to order myself the Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro USM lens some time very soon. Is there anything anyone would suggest I get with it? On my list I have a hoya UV filter, mainly for protection. Should I get the pro1 filter like I got last time ($60), or are the $32/$34 filters good enough for a beginner like myself?

I was wondering if it was worth getting closeup filter thingies to stick on it too. Does anyone think it's worthwhile doing that? The level of macro i'm interested in is getting an ant or small insect near enough to full frame at the minimum focussing distance.

Also, I assume I should get a lens hood, can anyone suggest which one I should get? I shop at B&H. A lens that costs that much should really come with one IMHO.

I'm going to get the Canon 50mm 1.8 at the same time, with a mid priced hoya filter, and I probably should get a lens lens hood for it too. Suggestions for this are welcome, especially the hood.

Thanks in advance for any help

Tim

Dec 07, 2004 at 05:02 AM
Tim Wild
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · canon 100mm 2.8 macro help

Thanks Peter Maybe i'll get cheaper filters and take 'em off... i'd hate to have them off and scratch the lens tho! I have a couple of followup questions...

How do I know what type of hood to get from B&H? I guess canon makes different sizes and I have to match them up somehow. Also, are there such things as third party hoods and are they worth considering?

Dec 07, 2004 at 06:10 AM
Tim Wild
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · canon 100mm 2.8 macro help

Cheers Peter, i'll take a look tomorrow when my eyes aren't being held open by toothpicks

Dec 07, 2004 at 06:34 AM
PShizzy
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · canon 100mm 2.8 macro help