Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Rumored X-H1 bring a price drop to X-T2?

rdeloe
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Rumored X-H1 bring a price drop to X-T2?

Fred, what I was talking about was zooming in BEFORE the exposure, not AFTER.

I caused some confusion here by referring to the JPEG preview. I'm not a software engineer so someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it, "Live View" is actually a live generated JPEG-type preview. That's why the histogram is so problematic: it's a histogram of that live, generated JPEG rather than a RAW histogram. As I understand it, we're only getting a 6x zoom ability on the X-T2 because that's the maximum magnification based on the actual size of the live generated preview.

Fixing this problem/feature may not be possible in a firmware update. I honestly don't know. I don't hear many people complaining about it, so I doubt it's high on the list of things they're working on. It's a real issue for me because I rely on the live preview when I'm using tilt adapters.

Interestingly, there is one area where the Fuji had my Sony A7R beat hand's down. With the Sony, I had to move the magnified area up to the top, check the focus, and then move it down to the buttom the long way, then back up... The top and bottom of the preview were hard boundaries. On the Fuji, the top and bottom edges allow you to "teleport" (as it were). I can be at the very top, and then with one joystick click jump down to the very bottom, and back again. So much better!

Fred G. Unn wrote: