New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Website Building

Ming-Tzu
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Website Building

I've read the various threads on this forum about building a photography website, and would like to see if there are better alternatives to Squarespace, which I am leaning towards. A friend also recommended Wix.

I'm an amateur photographer who wants to build a simple website to showcase my photography and have an easy-to-follow end point for potential customers to browse through. I'm not a coder and have limited knowledge as far as HTML, etc. Just looking for a service that makes it easy for me to create a website, potentially with e-commerce capabilities (e.g. selling my pictures, selling other people's pictures, etc.).

Is Squarespace the way to go? I see their business plan is $18/month if I subscribe for the entire year, which is what I am leaning towards. However, open to suggestions.

Nov 15, 2017 at 12:45 PM
rdeloe
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Website Building

SmugMug is relatively easy to use, highly customizable, and their technical support is incredibly strong. You can get your own domain name. This site costs me around $70 per year: www.robdeloephotography.com What I especially like is that I can publish to my site from inside Lightroom using the plugin supplied by SmugMug -- so no manual uploading photos.

Nov 15, 2017 at 12:57 PM
Ming-Tzu
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Website Building

rdeloe wrote:
SmugMug is relatively easy to use, highly customizable, and their technical support is incredibly strong. You can get your own domain name. This site costs me around $70 per year: www.robdeloephotography.com What I especially like is that I can publish to my site from inside Lightroom using the plugin supplied by SmugMug -- so no manual uploading photos.

Nice website and thanks for the rec!

Nov 15, 2017 at 01:00 PM
mdude85
• • • • •