New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Advice on group pictures

bluerunner
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice on group pictures

I am a hobbyist photographer, mostly into landscape and an occasional portrait and pets. My gear includes an old Canon 1DsIII and a Sony a7RII. Recently, I ave been asked to do a photoshoot of a family get-together in the backyard of a home and at around 10am. There will be about 10 adults and a few kids. I could have said no as I have never done any group pictures before but I am taking this opportunity to learn a few things. I plan to take both camera bodies but I am not sure what lenses to bring and to use. Here are some of my gear and what I had in mind:

Canon 17-40mm f4 (for group pictures)
Canon 50mm f1.4 (for portraits and small groups)
Samyang 14mm f2.8 (for group pictures - not sure if this would be too wide)
Sigma 150mm f2.8 (for candid shots)
Canon 580EX flash with Gary Fong diffuser

For my a7Rii, I have:
FE 35mm f2.8 ZA (for group pictures?)
FE 24-70mm f4 ZA OSS
Minolta 80-200mm f2.8 via a Sony LA-EA4 adapter (for candid shots)

My question is- Given my limited and older gear, what you use? Any recommendations is most appreciated!

Nov 12, 2017 at 01:26 PM
bluerunner
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Advice on group pictures

I also have a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 version I lens that I could use.

Nov 12, 2017 at 01:27 PM
R.H. Johnson
• • • •
[X]
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Advice on group pictures

take your 24-70mm depending on the size of the venue (the backyard). you may need that close and personal zoom. better to have it with you and not need it than to not have it and need it.

Nov 12, 2017 at 04:06 PM
bluerunner
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Advice on group pictures

Thanks for your advice. Agree with you on the 24-70. My next question is should I use the 24-70 f2.8 on Canon 1Dsiii or the 24-70 f4 on Sony a7rii?

Nov 12, 2017 at 06:09 PM