New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · GPS-Location Data to EXIF a7rIII

moosehead222
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · GPS-Location Data to EXIF a7rIII

I am new to Sony and so confused about the PlayMemories Mobile application. The new manual/help guide references PlayMemories but there is another post talking about that application not being available.

Assuming it is available (not sure why they would have it in their new help guide) if it is not, it looks like you have to transmit wireless or bluetooth each file one at a time vs. setting up the connection and having it transfer every time you take a picture.

Also would you have to use JPEG and not for RAW.. I shoot only RAW.

I have always wanted to capture location information using Nikon but never spent the money on an accessory.

In summary, for the new a7rIII;

Is PlayMemories Mobile app available?
Is the transfer automatic after each shot (after connection is established)?
Is this the way (via PlayMemories) location information is captured?
What do you recommend (3rd party solutions) to capture location data?

Thank you.

Nov 10, 2017 at 08:26 AM
kohann

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · GPS-Location Data to EXIF a7rIII

I believe it is similar than A9.
http://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1650/v1/en/index.html

Nov 10, 2017 at 09:46 AM
moosehead222
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · GPS-Location Data to EXIF a7rIII

kohann wrote:
I believe it is similar than A9.
http://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1650/v1/en/index.html

Thank you.. It states RAW converted to JPEG so if you want to send a quick photo to someone this should work fine. Getting location information to the RAW file for future transfer to Lightroom, not.

Nov 10, 2017 at 09:53 AM
mikesul
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · GPS-Location Data to EXIF a7rIII