The combinations are (almost) endless.

Nov 09, 2017 at 06:09 AM
CW100
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Want your opinion on downsizing

banky wrote:
Hey everyone-

First, I am mainly a travel photographer. I'm lucky enough to take 2-3 vacations a year and each is a big photo opportunity for me. I don't sell photos but they're my keepsake and used for prints around the house. I rarely use my gear when not traveling. I find my smartphone is enough for everyday life here at home.

I have a 5D4 with 6 lenses. The "holy trinity" of zoom and primes, so 3 zooms and 3 primes. I usually travel with just the body and 3 zooms and a tripod when necessary. I'm young, 32male, but I'm
...Show more

yes, that's a 'ton of stuff" to carry around when traveling on vacation

I use the little Canon M5 and 'pancake' lens when traveling and the M5 (or M6 or M100) can easily use big DSLR lenses with a $19 adapter ......very nice

www.flickr.com/photos/mmirrorless

Nov 09, 2017 at 11:07 AM
dhphoto
• • • • • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Want your opinion on downsizing

CW100 wrote:
yes, that's a 'ton of stuff" to carry around when traveling on vacation

I use the little Canon M5 and 'pancake' lens when traveling and the M5 (or M6 or M100) can easily use big DSLR lenses with a $19 adapter ......very nice

I would love to use an M5 for travel but over here it's at least 50% more expensive than the 200D/SL2, which has the same sensor. If they ever drop to a sensible price I'll buy one.

Nov 09, 2017 at 11:25 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #4 · p.3 #4 · Want your opinion on downsizing

Pixel Perfect wrote:
Only m4/3
... and EF-M... lenses are genuinely smaller and lighter in most cases.

Here's a comparison of three, three-zoom kits: EF-M, EF-S, and EF.

front, EF-M: M5, EF-M 11-22 IS STM, EF-M 18-55 IS STM, EF 55-200 IS STM
back right, EF-S: SL2, EF-S 10-18 IS STM, EF-S 18-55 IS STM, EF-S 55-250 IS STM
back right, EF: 5DS, EF 16-35/4 L IS, EF 24-70/4 L IS, EF 70-200/4L IS