New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Want your opinion on downsizing

banky

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Want your opinion on downsizing

Hey everyone-

First, I am mainly a travel photographer. I'm lucky enough to take 2-3 vacations a year and each is a big photo opportunity for me. I don't sell photos but they're my keepsake and used for prints around the house. I rarely use my gear when not traveling. I find my smartphone is enough for everyday life here at home.

I have a 5D4 with 6 lenses. The "holy trinity" of zoom and primes, so 3 zooms and 3 primes. I usually travel with just the body and 3 zooms and a tripod when necessary. I'm young, 32male, but I'm starting to feel indifferent to carrying all of this stuff around when traveling. Yes- I've been able to get amazing shots, but it's also distracting in the sense that it takes me away from "vacation". I sweat a lot when lugging it around, I have a lower back injury so sometimes that becomes aggravated due to the weight, and overall it's just getting kind of annoying.

I didn't mention I like to video blog my travels too so I carry a GoPro and Mavic with me. It's a ton of stuff I carry around.

What would you lot say is the best option for me as far as downsizing my gear, still being able to capture HQ photos for occasional print, and still enjoy my time away from home?

Thoughts that have popped into my mind:
- a Leica non-interchangeable lens (point and shoot?)
- newly announced sony a7r3 (use adaptor for canon lens)
- keep my gear and deal with it

Looking forward to what you guys say..

Nov 08, 2017 at 02:25 PM
Mikehit
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Want your opinion on downsizing

I am sort of in the same boat - a lot of my travel stuff is while away on business and small and light is much preferable.