New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Hiking with the Gitzo 3 series tripods

m_abukhalid

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Hiking with the Gitzo 3 series tripods

Hello all,

Recently joined the forum after being an avid reader for a long time. I am a hobbyist, and got into photography for landscape, wildlife and City photographs. Im using a Nikon D500 primarily with a 17-55mm Nikon lens. At most I will be looking at a tele zoom (eg. 80-400) and a wide angle lens of some sort. I love my lowepro slingshot 200 AW since its light, easy to access the camera and any accessories, even on long hikes..

Enter the tripod! I decided, for better or worse, to get the Gitzo mountaineer 3431 (well priced used) but now have the conundrum of figuring out how to carry the darn thing when I go on long hikes or just walk around a city Im visiting. The legs on the GT3431 are quite wide and with a head it isnt exactly light, so I havent been able to take advantage of the side mounting on the lowepro slingshot. Can someone recommend a safe and secure way to attach it to the slingshot I have or a solid backpack that could accommodate that kind of tripod? Trying to figure out a solution that is easy and fast to pack and deploy.

Nov 06, 2017 at 08:15 PM
Chris Court
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Hiking with the Gitzo 3 series tripods

I have a 3531. Awesome, sturdy 'pod, but it's ungainly as heck and weighs a ton. I wouldn't even consider hiking with it. Instead, I also picked up a 1541, which is massively lighter and more luggable. Sure, you lose some stability, but by using it thoughtfully (not extending the bottom leg section, avoiding windy conditions etc.) the difference is far smaller than one might imagine.

Of course, it's something else to buy, but hey-ho, welcome to the world of photography!

C

Nov 07, 2017 at 01:45 AM
EB-1
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Hiking with the Gitzo 3 series tripods