New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Recommendations for first native lens

swannyson7

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Recommendations for first native lens

I haven't pulled the trigger yet, but I'm planning to switch from Canon to an A7rii in the near future. I'll be using my canon glass with an adapter to start, but I'd eventually like to get a native lens for the better eye-AF and subject tracking. I'm a hobbyist, so I'm not looking for an overly expensive lens, but want something that's going to be sharp across all lengths (preferably something I can pick up new/used for under $1000). I'm not interest in primes, but I don't need a huge reach either. I had a friend recommend the 24-240, which seems to fit the bill for a good walk around lens, but I was looking for any other suggestions. I shoot more at the wide end, but having some reach would be a plus.

Nov 04, 2017 at 10:17 AM
BrandonSi
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Recommendations for first native lens

Tons of options in primes.. why not at least a basic fast 50 like the 55 1.8? It's amazingly sharp, it'll blow your mind.

24-240 is solid, punches a *bit* above it's weight which is why people like it, but it doesn't really hold up to a lot of the more 'pro' lenses in the FE lineup.

Heard lots of good things about the 24-70 F4, and I was planning on getting one myself as a travel lens, but after the 24-105 announcement and going to hold out and see how that one is received.

Nov 04, 2017 at 11:44 AM
swannyson7

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Recommendations for first native lens