Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Need some feed back please. (Natural Light Portraits)

dizzy999s

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need some feed back please. (Natural Light Portraits)

I did these for a friend who needed some headshots. This was my first time doing this type of shoot. I'm a hobbyist. It was a cloudy/drizzling day and I used a reflector to fill-in the shadows on her face. We couldn't get her hair under control because of the drizzle.

Nov 03, 2017 at 05:42 PM
story_teller
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need some feed back please. (Natural Light Portraits)

Actually, very good for a first-time headshot shoot. You did a good job of subject separation from the background, nice colors, simple top, no blinding jewelry, etc.

I prefer #2 for a couple of reasons. First is that she's turned to the side. Turning her to her side is typically more attractive than flat to the camera. Second, is the facial expression. The expression in #1 looks forced. You didn't say "cheese" did you?? (lol)

Outside, the hair is usually a problem unless you have a hair and makeup person with you. Minimize hair issues as much as you can when photographing and fix the rest in post. Speaking of post processing, you might consider softening the wrinkles under her eyes a bit in #2.

All-in-all, nice job on #2!

Nov 03, 2017 at 06:43 PM
dizzy999s

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Need some feed back please. (Natural Light Portraits)

Thank you.

1# is literally maybe the 4th frame I shot. I was still working on making her feel more relaxed which was a challenge.

These were edited in LR. I softened her skin by reducing clarity. I was worried about overdoing and making her look unnatural.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Nov 03, 2017 at 07:12 PM
beavens
• • • • •