Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Any tips on how to use my first monolight (godox ad600) I...

karlkrum

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Any tips on how to use my first monolight (godox ad600) I'm lost

Hey guys i've mostly been shoot landscapes, but have ventured into shooting portraits with natural light. Then i got a battery powered ring light (Yongnuo YN-308C) love this thing, so easy to use with a a7r2. The live view and always on LED light makes setting exposure effortless for me as it would be the same way I would expose any other image and I get feedback on how to adjust the light through the camera screen.

With the ad600 (non-ttl) it's tough, I've never used a flash before so I'm new to all this. I'm using a 95cm octobox and at the lowest power (1/256) I still overexpose. I constantly find my self changing flash power and exposure settings to kind of guess the / get lucky with the right combo that works.

My thinking goes, set your aperture as desired and shutter speed should be at least something to make sharp photos so start at 1/320. Then I would adjust flash power to fill in the model, the problem is a lot of times at the lowest power it's still too much light.

Nov 03, 2017 at 08:08 AM
Ho1972
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Any tips on how to use my first monolight (godox ad600) I'm lost

Apart from flash power settings, aperture, ISO and light-to-subject distance control your flash exposure. Remember PAID (power, aperture, iso, distance).

Assuming flash to ambient ratio within reason, shutter speed for sharpness is irrelevant. Flash duration is quick enough to get that job done.

Nov 03, 2017 at 12:34 PM
kaplah
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Any tips on how to use my first monolight (godox ad600) I'm lost