New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · 7D MK2 Focus issue ??

allleedsarntwe

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 7D MK2 Focus issue ??

Hi All
I am a newbie here to this forum ,but i have been here many times but never registered.Great Forum by the way.

Anyway , i have recently acquired a 7Dmk2 . I recently discovered that some 7d's had focusing issues.

I took some shots of a Kingfisher with the 7d mk2 with a Canon 400mm f5.6 and 1.4x canon mk2 extender attached
Can anyone tell me if you see any reason to think i have focus issues ?

i have included a link to the recent shots
kingfisher taken at Tophill Low Reserve by Martin, on Flickr

i havent done any MAF with either the lens on its own or with x1.4 attached

Look forward to any replies and advice

Thank You

Martin

https://flic.kr/p/ZsVNUz

Oct 18, 2017 at 09:50 AM
BluesWest
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 7D MK2 Focus issue ??

...havent done any MAF with either the lens on its own or with x1.4 attached
If you expect to get reasonable results from that combination (400mm/5.6 lens plus extender), then you absolutely MUST check whether AF micro adjustment is needed. Mine required -13, which is a fairly extreme value.

Even with microadjustment, I don’t consider the 400/5.6 to be a good candidate for use with extenders. The image quality degrades much more than the 500mm/4 plus extender.

John

Oct 18, 2017 at 11:08 AM
arbitrage
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 7D MK2 Focus issue ??

Based on this one image, all I can say is that it is focused fine....looks great and I viewed it larger on your Flickr page.