FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2017 · What RAW Developer for Landscapes

gdanmitchell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · What RAW Developer for Landscapes

photomedic4321 wrote:
Okay gang, their are some stunning images on the landscape forum but also on the rest of the forum too. My question is what RAW developer do you guys use. I am currently using Camera RAW as that is what I have used my whole time I have shot digital, just curious what most others use.

I've been using x-trans cameras for about five years now — along with other camera systems. I have not found any reason to use anything other than the same Adobe products that I use with all of my work. The raw conversion capabilities of ACR (which I use most) and Lightroom are first rate if you understand how to use them, and the compatibility advantages of the Adobe products are compelling.

I think that the supposed differences in output from different raw conversion programs reflect not so much actual difference in their capabilities as they do the knowledge of the photographer about how to use the software, along with more than a bit of wishful thinking.

If you happen to enjoy the interface of one of the other applications — and are happy going through .tiff steps and so forth for conversion to your final image editing app — use whatever you enjoy using. But don't expect to see any difference in the quality of your final prints.

Dan

Oct 16, 2017 at 07:12 PM
rdeloe
• • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · What RAW Developer for Landscapes