New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Trip Location Advice & Meet-ups | Join Upload & Sell

~ Winter travel | Gear Query ~

zurura

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · ~ Winter travel | Gear Query ~

Hello there,

I am based in India and do landscape photography [most of the times]. I am going for a winter trek in January, where the temperatures are expected to range between 5 to -20 degrees Celsius [40 to -5 degree Fahrenheit]. The entire trek is done on a frozen river and I have heard there are nice vistas covered by snow. Chadar Trek Link

My question is regarding camera and photography here. I have a Fuji XT20 with Rokinon 12MM, Fuji 18-55, 56 & 55-200 currently after switching from Canon recently. I would be carrying almost all the lenses here but my question is about the body. This is my first time with a camera in such temperatures. So, I have some generic questions and some specifics. Would love to have opinions on these and any other points that you may think are useful.

1. What are the things that I need to keep in mind about shooting in winter?

2. Does the camera throw up any issues that I have no clue about?

3. I have 3 batteries currently; how many batteries should I carry for a 5 nights without electricity trek? I would be shooting sparingly and shall do some milky way as well. 2 out of 3 lasted me well during my last trek which was 5 days without electricity.

4. Would the batteries last as long as they last in the hills at temperatures of 5-22 degrees Celsius [40-70 degrees Fahrenheit]?

5. Any issues with the performance of these lenses? Any precautions that need to be taken.

Thanks for reading this.

- Gautam

PS: In case if this needs to be asked in or linked to some other board, please let me know.

Oct 10, 2017 at 11:36 AM
Sashi
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · ~ Winter travel | Gear Query ~

Gautam

The trek seems great. A few things to note: