New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Nikon Drone

Blakehfreeman
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Nikon Drone

Picked up a DJI Mavic Pro yesterday and couldn't find a single thread on FredMiranda for drones... couple comments:

1. Have any of you explored drone photography?
2. Do you think Nikon would ever revive/repurpose the 1 mount for drone photography.
3. Throw out your work if you've gotten into it! Want to see what others here have done, will post my own once I have a moment to take it for a spin.

Oct 06, 2017 at 12:32 AM
Chris Court
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Nikon Drone

The Mavic is awesome! I've only really used mine for play, so far though, so nothing worth showing, here.

I'm no engineer, but it seems to me that the more massive your camera/lens, the more heavy-duty any gimbal system would need to be, and extra weight directly affects battery life. This is probably why the Mavic camera is so tiny.

Congrats on your new toy.

C

Oct 06, 2017 at 12:52 AM
Blakehfreeman
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Nikon Drone

I sold my seldom used Nikon Coolpix A and Sony Rx100 (my wife's) to fund the purchase... got it for $810 new at BestBuy so it only cost me $200 out of pocket!

I agree they wouldn't use that mount for Mavic competitor, but more along the lines of the more professional line they offer.

Chris Court wrote:
The Mavic is awesome! I've only really used mine for play, so far though, so nothing worth showing, here.

I'm no engineer, but it seems to me that the more massive your camera/lens, the more heavy-duty any gimbal system would need to be, and extra weight directly affects battery life. This is probably why the Mavic camera is so tiny.

Congrats on your new toy.

C

Oct 06, 2017 at 01:03 AM
Photozack81
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Nikon Drone