Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2017 · Husband/Wife Teams and Newborns

IrishDino
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Husband/Wife Teams and Newborns

My wife and I have been shooting weddings together since 2012. I've been the primary shooter with everything in my name, and my wife has been the assistant "plus" who takes care of setting up family formals (etc) and can second shoot in a pinch.

We're expecting our first child in November and to be quite honest, I have no idea how it will impact our business.

I've been thinking about hiring a second shooter to tag along for weddings. I've been thinking about dropping the kid off at his grandparents for 4 hours while we tackle the ceremony and family formals. I've considered ceasing all bookings. I thought about rebranding and removing any mention of my wife from my website and just becoming a solo shooter for small weddings only.

Has anyone gone though something similar and care to share? How did a newborn impact your business?

Oct 02, 2017 at 09:21 AM
jmraso
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Husband/Wife Teams and Newborns

First off, congratulations !
Then, yeah a second would be the answer, also grands are "meant" to take care of the new kids in the family for working reasons and more, at least that is what I will do for my son.
Ceasing booking when you are about to becone a father ?, I would say it is the other way round, at least for you, the father.

Good luck !

Oct 02, 2017 at 09:43 AM
FrancisK7
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Husband/Wife Teams and Newborns

First of all, sincerest congratulations! There is so much happiness about to arrive in your life you just can't imagine yet.

I went through this exactly a year ago.

Jess and I started going out in 2012 shortly after my rebranding and we have been shooting weddings ever since together. I am full time, she still has a 35h/week job with Fridays off.