Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       4              6       7       end

Review - ProFoto A1

Lanny Mann

Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Review - ProFoto A1

Thanks for enlightening me, Littleguy. I'm new to this kinda thing.
Littleguy wrote:
Its just the framing and disclosure.

If you had said that you were honoured to be hired to shoot the promote video for the Profoto A1 launch and after using them you loved them so much that you dumped all your old flashes and switched over to A1s and here is why we did it - I don't think anyone would of had a problem with it.

The FTC has pretty clear rules on the required disclosures for influencers
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2017/04/ftc-staff-reminds-influencers-brands-clearly-disclose

Sep 27, 2017 at 12:27 AM
Lanny Mann

p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Review - ProFoto A1

In fact, I've now updated that within the review. Thanks for your advice.

Lanny Mann wrote:
Thanks for enlightening me, Littleguy. I'm new to this kinda thing.

Sep 27, 2017 at 12:42 AM
mineymole
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Review - ProFoto A1

Hi Lanny,

You and Erica ARE stand-up people. And I'm happy you can understand why everyone here is being a bit tough on you.

It is proper to disclose that you were given complimentary flashes and that you were paid to endorse a product AND that you do absolutely love that product. I'm sure if you had not loved the product, you would not have done the review.

I'm sure, as a photographer, you are aware of what it is like when the big guns of an industry all come out at once loving and pushing a new product. Every time this happens, no one ever says hey yeah they gave me stuff (from camera ambassadors and on). And that is just plain deceitful.

Can you tell us what you actually changed in your review? Did you say that you were paid to endorse, or received free product?

Thank you for hearing us.

Sep 27, 2017 at 11:09 AM