Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              5       6       end

Archive 2017 · Sports Photographs for Free

ScooterShooter
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sports Photographs for Free

I am a novice compared with most here and have never worked photography professionally. It is just a hobby for me.

I read the "Immutable Laws" thread and afterwards I feel like I'm "that guy". I take photos at various sporting events at my kids' high school, and I post them and give them away for free.

I do so for a few reasons:

1) I'm trying to "give back" to a school that I feel has done a lot for my family.
2) I'm trying to "give back" to friends whose kids play sports at the school. Many of these friends have given to me/my family/the community through coaching or teaching my kids, working the school lunchroom, being the team parent, etc etc.
3) I like to take photographs and attempt to get better.

Based on the "Immutable Laws" thread, I'm now wondering if I am somehow disrespecting the photography brotherhood by providing free photos? I have a full-time job and so am not in it for the money. I just enjoy the challenge of getting a good image.

Sep 19, 2017 at 03:54 PM
P Alesse
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sports Photographs for Free

What about a compromise? Charge them and give back a percentage to the booster club to support the athletic program. That's what most pros do anyway. It's a win-win.

Sep 19, 2017 at 06:19 PM
mikekeating
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sports Photographs for Free

Scooter, I am like you. Have a full time job that I love. And I enjoy the challenge of trying to get a good shot.