New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

5DSR - burnt mirror housing?

Eyvind Ness
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5DSR - burnt mirror housing?

I've been using my 5dsr with zero issues for a couple of years now. It's my fave body, by far (my 1dx2 is a lot faster, of course, but most of the time, I need lots of megapixels before ultra-high speed).

Today, however, and totally out of the blue, I got Err 20. Took off the lens, and to my horror found something that looked like a smoked mirror housing, see attached pic.

Last thing I did, before this, was taking a couple of butterfly pics with my 100L. Are there other explanations than somehow, the sun made its way into the mirror box?

Sep 16, 2017 at 06:03 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 5DSR - burnt mirror housing?

well is it possible it was placed somewhere angled towards the sun with the lens cap off ?
that looks a lot like one of the damaged cameras in Roger's blog about the damage after the Eclipse
https://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2017/09/rental-camera-gear-destroyed-by-the-solar-eclipse-of-2017/

Sep 16, 2017 at 06:33 PM
EB-1
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 5DSR - burnt mirror housing?

It must be that the sun was in the lens, possibly slightly above the top of the image as seen in the VF.

EBH

Sep 16, 2017 at 06:58 PM
Eyvind Ness
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 5DSR - burnt mirror housing?

There butterfly shots I took were backlit. I saw no sun in the viewfinder while shooting, though. I also used the hood. Somehow, the sun must have crept in, anyway, I guess.

Sep 16, 2017 at 07:05 PM
Photonadave
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · 5DSR - burnt mirror housing?