Username  

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Recommended Filters

goobers

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Recommended Filters

Hi all. I plan on getting back into landscape photography in the coming months and will be shooting with a Nikon D600 + Nikon 18-35mm. The lens can take screw on 77mm filters and I will be shooting primarily in WA state. In the past I've simply used a circular polarizer with my wide angle lenses, but I'm definitely willing to learn and practice with something new. Neutral density filters are mentioned quite frequently, but I've never used them before.

What are everyone's recommendations? ND filter sets? Graduated ND filter? No filter?

TIA

Sep 15, 2017 at 04:34 AM
01Ryan10
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Recommended Filters

Do not get screw on GNDs. Your compositions will be limited by them.

I have Lee Foundation system with Big Stopper and some GNDs. A very small blue cast that can easily be adjusted in post.

Sep 15, 2017 at 05:04 AM
harshaj1
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Recommended Filters

I always carry 10, 5 and 3 stop ND filters and a polarizer. No GND
Harsha

Sep 15, 2017 at 10:22 AM
morris
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Recommended Filters

Grad ND filters used to be a go to for me when there was a large dynamic range. I've stopped using them preferring to take two or more exposures and blend in post. To slow the shutter for waterfalls I used my CPL and add a 2 stop ND when necessary. Color filters and also done in post

Morris

Sep 15, 2017 at 02:07 PM
Dave Dillemuth
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Recommended Filters