Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Another tripod question.. RRS/Gitzo owners please chime in!

ATX353

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Another tripod question.. RRS/Gitzo owners please chime in!

Hello folks,

I'm a new member here, and I am also pretty new to photography. I mainly photograph landscapes, cityscapes, and nightscapes. My first tripod was the Gitzo Traveler Series 2 (GT2545T) with the Ball Head (GH1382QD). First of all, I love the Gitzo, it's sturdy and lightweight. However, I wanted something that was a little bit taller than 55 inches (ball head included), and I wanted to stay away from relying on the center column for the sake of stability. Since a majority of my landscape photographs and nightscape photos require a longer exposure, I thought that I would look at the RRS TVC24L, and just use the Gitzo head that I currently have with it. Well, I received it today and like all RRS products that I have experienced, it seems to be very well made. My concerns are the following and please forgive my ignorance as I am still pretty new here and to photography.

1. Rigidity: It seems like when you tap the RRS legs, the vibrations seem to be more pronounced and carry longer than my Gitzo. I'm not sure if this "test" is even valid or is something to be concerned about. Does anyone here have any input?

2. Does anyone have both the Gitzo GT2545T and the RRS TVC24L, in which they could provide some of their own experiences?