Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Milky Way in the Black Rock Desert...editing advice? (New...

brodyq

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Milky Way in the Black Rock Desert...editing advice? (Newbie help)

I'm pretty new at trying out Milky Way photos, and I don't want them to look too over-processed/fakey. I've been staring at these for a while and don't know what else to do to them, or if I've done anything terribly wrong. They just don't look..... good? Sharp? Contrasty enough?

It was pre-event for Burning Man festival, so there were more lights and ambient dust-haze in the air than I'd like (the Black Rock Desert is otherwise one of the darkest places in the US!), so they're sub-optimal in that regard. I was out goofing around and trying out different ISOs and times to see what works best for my camera. (Trying to NOT want a way better camera body, ha ha.....)

Advice? Criticism? Thoughts?

Both shot with my Nikon D5300, and a Tokina lens.

Self-portrait:
ISO3200, 11mm @ 30 seconds, f2.8

My awesome golf cart:
ISO1600, 11mm @ 28 seconds, f2.8

Thank you for helping me as I learn!!

Sep 10, 2017 at 12:16 AM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Milky Way in the Black Rock Desert...editing advice? (Newbie help)

The milky way looks best in the first one. I prefer not to have people standing in or light painting. Just a personal bias of mine. If it were me, I would use the first cropped just below the bright line below the hills. And of course no people. But of the two, as presented, it's the best.

I like the MW and sky in that image best, I like the hills backlit by some light and clouds, and I like the foreground better.