New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       end

Alternative to Sony 35mm f1.4 Zeiss?

snikt228
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Alternative to Sony 35mm f1.4 Zeiss?

I owned and used the FE 35 1.4 for maybe a year, I actually ended up selling it and "downgrading" to the FE 35 2.8. It did make great images for sure, no complaints about that.

I'm in the same boat, I'm just a hobbyist and I got tired of the weight/size especially for travel. The 35 2.8 is really a great little lens and I don't really find missing the faster speed too much. Also have the 55 1.8 that I can use when I want something faster.

I think the 16-35 f4 + 35 2.8 + 55 1.8 makes a great travel combo. Can cover a lot of range with the 16-35 + 55 1.8. At night or more casual situations on the trip you can just grab the 35 2.8 and the combo weights nothing and can almost fit in a jacket pocket.

Sep 12, 2017 at 03:29 PM
trogdon
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Alternative to Sony 35mm f1.4 Zeiss?

snikt228 wrote:
I owned and used the FE 35 1.4 for maybe a year, I actually ended up selling it and "downgrading" to the FE 35 2.8. It did make great images for sure, no complaints about that.

I'm in the same boat, I'm just a hobbyist and I got tired of the weight/size especially for travel. The 35 2.8 is really a great little lens and I don't really find missing the faster speed too much. Also have the 55 1.8 that I can use when I want something faster.

I think the 16-35 f4 + 35 2.8 + 55 1.8 makes a
...Show more

Three of the best lenses for the FE system in terms of size relative to performance. Can't beat these 3 lenses in any other system

Sep 12, 2017 at 04:38 PM
pasblues
• •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Alternative to Sony 35mm f1.4 Zeiss?

Would you consider a Minolta Rokkor prime? A 24 or 28?

How often do you shoot at 1.4?

bloung wrote: