New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2017 · Fuji Lenses recommendation for Europe travel

southwoodlaker
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fuji Lenses recommendation for Europe travel

I am going to have a two-week vacation in Europe which is a bus tour passing several countries. This is my first time in Europe. It is just personal vacation with my wife but I so like to take some good travel pictures. I am planning to bring a Fuji X-T2 and 18-55 kit lens plus either a 14 2.8 or a 16 1.4. Feel like I need something longer. Thinking about buying a 90 f/2 or 55-200. Like to hear your advice. Thank you!!

Aug 29, 2017 at 10:01 AM
rdeloe
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fuji Lenses recommendation for Europe travel

The 14/2.8 is an outstanding lens. I'm just amazed at how good it is. Lots of people love the 16/1.4 too, so really it comes down to how wide you like it. If you have an 18-55 I'd recommend the 14/2.8 to get the biggest difference.

The 90/2 is an outstanding lens, but it's expensive, big and fairly heavy. I happen to like that focal length, but I think a lot of people buy the 90/2 and then don't use it much because it's so specialized and bulky/heavy.

Do you like manual focus? There are lots of really good longer focal length options that are lighter, smaller and much cheaper. For example, I really like my Olympus OM 100/2.8. The catch is it can be challenging and time consuming to get good copies of older lenses (and I don't know what your travel schedule is).

Aug 29, 2017 at 10:09 AM
Steve Wylie
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Fuji Lenses recommendation for Europe travel

You might also consider the 10-24 f/4. Its a great travel lens. I truly believe that the fewer pieces of gear you take, the more great photos you'll make.

Aug 29, 2017 at 10:17 AM
travelair
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Fuji Lenses recommendation for Europe travel