Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Gitzo G410 tripod shattered collar sleeve/bushing problem need help ASAP.

Duncan Staples
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Gitzo G410 tripod shattered collar sleeve/bushing problem need help ASAP.

Fellow professionals:

This is a bit embarrassing but I'm a pro that has been shooting over 25 years and I ran into a problem this evening and need a fairly rapid temporary fix until I can get a part shipped in which I can't find anywhere.

D001.JS3. Bushing Set For Locking Rings.....

https://www.manfrottospares.com/d001-js3-bushing-set-for-locking-rings/

I have spare tripods but I would prefer to use two identical tripods that I shoot with all the time.

I have the Gitzo heavy aluminum G410 tripod and I was switching columns this evening and the inner lubrication lock ring made of a hard wax type product shattered this evening for the first time in 20 + years?

This prevents me from tightening the collar as it is designed to act as a lubrication sleeve but also a gap sleeve for the column as you will see in the photographs attached.

None of the local camera stores in St. Louis carry replacement sleeves for this particular tripod and I really need it ASAP, so if anyone has a MacGyver fix to get me through a one day multiple camera shoot, even if it means locking down the column in one place and adjusting the legs, that is perfectly fine with me.

I have tried cardboard and it is too thick I have tried paper it is too thin.

Without placing anything between the column and the collar sleeve there is a gap preventing the tightening and lockdown of the column.

Does anyone have a solution or recommendation that will fill the gap between the tripod collar and the column at least on a temporary basis?