New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Punta Cana , DR

nycjuni

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Punta Cana , DR

So this is my first time trying out the a Samyang 14mm, still experimenting with that one. Also using a ND filter 10 stop on Canon 24-105mm.. Any suggestions on where is the best point to be in the beach area (sand,water break point..etc) I understand it all depends on beach area and location, but any tips on where to start on the beach below would help. Thanks.

The shots below were taken on a beach wooden platform about 15ft high using tripod, Canon 5d3.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III    1s    50 ISO    0.0 EV  

Canon EOS 5D Mark III    EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens    24mm    f/10.0    30s    200 ISO    0.0 EV  

Aug 17, 2017 at 11:54 AM
beavens
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Punta Cana , DR

With UWA lenses I like to get super close and super low. This will create an interesting foreground that will 'draw' the viewer into the rest of the scene. It also helps preventing from creating a tiny, compressed scene that is difficult to make out any detail. Sure, this can be useful when trying to play up an expansive feel, but that's not always the goal.

As far as #1 goes, it's fairly cluttered in terms of comp. As shot there is no real anchor point, so you definitely get the feeling of floating which I think it's counter-productive here. You've also got a fairly severe counter-clockwise lean and some perspective distortion around the edges.

I dig #2's simplicity and soft tones a lot more. I might have composed this so I was rotated around more to the left so the perspective was looking up the beachline (the palm would still be on the right side of the frame, but the nice line of the coast would not be broken up). Might look to clone out the ladder () and the lone OOF person.

My $0.02!

Jeff

Aug 17, 2017 at 01:28 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •