Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Tips Needed on Shooting Golf Tournament!

Bobg657
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Tips Needed on Shooting Golf Tournament!

I've volunteered to help a non-profit by shooting their annual golf tournament, and realize I'm totally unprepared (think first, act later?) I'm very comfortable shooting wildlife but this will be new for me.

As this will be mostly in harsh daylight, am I correct I should use off camera fill flash? I'm a total flash newbie, what flash units/settings might be best? Shooting with an OMD EM1.2 as my primary camera.

Any other tips would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Bob

Aug 16, 2017 at 06:13 PM
bobbytan
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Tips Needed on Shooting Golf Tournament!

Hey Bob - I have never shot a sporting event before but I would think that flash is a No No, especially if you are shooting the players. Besides, you should have no trouble opening the shadows in post if you have to. Shoot any action in sequential anti-shock mode rather than silent mode to avoid any rolling shutter effect.

You might also want to reach out to Jordon Steele aka Jman13. He has shot many golfing events with his Olympus, Fuji and probably Sony camera.

Aug 16, 2017 at 07:34 PM
Bobg657
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Tips Needed on Shooting Golf Tournament!

Thanks Bobby, most shots will probably be posed group shots of foursomes, and my assumption which may not be correct is people want the images quickly so jpeg might make sense. I will reach out to Jordan to get the real scoop though!

Thanks again,
Bob

Aug 16, 2017 at 07:58 PM
Bobg657
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Tips Needed on Shooting Golf Tournament!

Bobby, I PM'd Jordan and he was very helpful, thanks for the suggestion!

Aug 16, 2017 at 10:07 PM