Username  

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · My tour of the balkans

spazegun2213

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My tour of the balkans

Let me preface with the fact that I'm new to photography. I purchased my DSLR about a year ago and life took over... which means it was an expensive paper weight in the hands of a novice. In April I picked the camera up again and started actually using it. I read and viewed tutorials at a furious rate, because in May I was going on a 2 week motorcycle vacation through the Balkans. It was a crazy, amazing, once in a life time trip through 8 countries. Needless to say I had to bring the DSLR and try to snap something good. My buddy that i was riding with was awesome by letting me run around with a camera every time we stopped. I'm sure it annoyed him a little, but in the end I think I caught some amazing pictures.

When I got home, I had my next problem, how to edit them!? I'd never really used lightroom before and photoshop was WAY out of my league. So I hastily edited them in lightroom and cranked up the saturation, because it looks cool RIGHT?! I posted some of them here in the Critique section to see what others thought. Sure, the pictures were cool, and the colors were amazing, but you all could tell something was off and so could I. So I went back to learning, taking more pictures and trying out different edits and workflows to come up with something of my own. I think tonight I hit my breakthrough and here are a few shots that I think are edited well. But as always I'd love your inputs!!!

A road in slovenia where I first saw the snow capped mountains of the Dolomites.
Balkans-5000 by spazegun, on Flickr

Near the top of a pass at the dolomites I turned around and saw this. I was blown away.
Balkans-5015 by spazegun, on Flickr

Aug 15, 2017 at 12:08 PM
xterra07
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · My tour of the balkans