New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Travel Tripod: GT0545T vs. GT1555T

Kikkomann

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Travel Tripod: GT0545T vs. GT1555T

I am in the market for the smallest (when folded/closed), and lightest CF travel tripod. I have narrowed down my options to either Gitzo GT0545T and Gitzo GT1555T.

- GT0545T - 14.4 inches when closed, 4 sections, 90kg/2.0lbs, 122.5cm/48.2” fully extended.
- GT1555T - 14 inches when closed, 5 sections, 1.03kg/2.3lbs, 138cm/54.3” fully extended.

That 5 sections concern me, because that last leg will surely be thin. But it is a tad more compact. Any recommendation? And which ballhead would go well with either of these two?

Aug 11, 2017 at 11:22 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Travel Tripod: GT0545T vs. GT1555T

I've been using the older GT-0540 CF for about ten years, off & on; maybe twice a year. It's been fine for me. I use it with a RRS BH-25 head.

Aug 11, 2017 at 11:59 AM
WestTexas Sky
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Travel Tripod: GT0545T vs. GT1555T

Gitzo makes a good tripod. I picked up a GT1541T as a travel tripod. A little bigger when folded the the two you are looking at but even extended does a good job with my A7R and small primes.

A Sirui 025x will be about a foot folded but is only around 36" tall setup. I don't think the center column is stable enough and removed it.

If your main concern is folded length and it's just the two you mention, I would go with the 1 series unless you are backpacking the AT our something when ever ounce counts.
Good luck.

Aug 12, 2017 at 07:40 PM
hiepphotog
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Travel Tripod: GT0545T vs. GT1555T