Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

What Tripod & Head For Sony A7r ii?

sabeast

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · What Tripod & Head For Sony A7r ii?

HERE ARE MY GOALS....

Just Got Myself A Sony A7Rii & Sony 24-70 GM 2.8 Lens. I mostly want a tripod to do street fashion photography of myself. All im really looking for is the best quality tripod to use to take shots of myself, products. Like i said im a fashion designer, so the images will be some studio, mostly street style fashion photography. I would have my girlfriend on the other end of the camera just to be sure the tripod doesn't fall or no-one runs off with my camera lol....Here are some photography ideas of what im after http://www.thestyleograph.com/.

Edited on Aug 13, 2017 at 03:03 PM · View previous versions

Aug 10, 2017 at 04:10 PM
philber
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · What Tripod & Head For Sony A7r ii?

I would go with Gitzo tripods. Such as the Moutaineer series. If you don't need height and want to keep it light, go 0532/0542. One size up and it is 1532/1542. I use a 0542 with A7RII and heavy lenses (Zeiss Otus 55, Otus 28), and I am happy with it. I recommend complementing it with a Arca Swiss P0 head.
I always keep a healthy margin between the actual weight of my gear (2kg) and the weight spec of my tripod and head (no less than at least 2x, the actual weight, but better if it is 3x).

Aug 10, 2017 at 05:27 PM
sabeast

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · What Tripod & Head For Sony A7r ii?

Edited on Aug 13, 2017 at 02:32 PM · View previous versions

Aug 10, 2017 at 06:13 PM
mbphoto_2.8
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · What Tripod & Head For Sony A7r ii?

What does the tripod have to do with the video you want to shoot?

I just watched those videos and realised that there's much more in play than just a tripod.