New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Seeking basic tripod and head advice

tshore
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Seeking basic tripod and head advice

I have been taking bird pictures for the last several years with a Canon 500mm f/4 IS, with either a 1D mk IV or a 7D. I have been doing so handheld, but I am seeing the advantages of a tripod in certain situations.

I am a complete tripod newbie...the equipment all seems very confusing, and it's not always clear to me what certain equipment does, or if it is needed. For instance a lens plate...what does that do? So yeah, a newbie.

For my gear, the lens is 7.5 lbs, the camera another 2.5, the head maybe 3 or 4. Add a tc or whatever, looking at maybe 15 lbs. of load on the tripod I would think I would want the tripod to be high enough to hold the camera at or even above eye level. I am 5'10''.

From what I have read, a gimbal-type head seems to offer the most flexibility long lenses.

I would appreciate both specific recommendations (brand, model) and also more general recommendations on important features, what equipment I need, etc.

Thanks in advance!

Tim

Aug 07, 2017 at 04:06 PM
rw11
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Seeking basic tripod and head advice

buy an RRS tripod and ballhead - sized so your eye is at the right Ht. w/o needing a center column

BH-40 or BH-55 ballhead

go look at their web site for more... maybe you can visit as they ar not too far from you

if too expensive buy a used CF Gitzo tripod; you can even find RRS tripods and ballheads used sometimes but Gitzo is more commonly available

Markins also makes a good ballhead

you may also need a Wimberly

Lots of info on here if you search but I boiled it down for you

Aug 07, 2017 at 04:19 PM
tshore
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Seeking basic tripod and head advice

Thanks. You recommend a ballhead over a gimbal?