FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3      
       end

Leica SL experience and also Q

robgo2
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.4 #1 · p.4 #1 · Leica SL experience and also Q

I am not a professional, so my needs differ from some of the previous posters. In my experience, the SL is extremely easy and fast to focus manually. Most of the time I use peaking and only occasionally magnification. Unlike with my Sony, peaking is accurate and useful. I also have the 24-90, and although it may be one of the finest zoom lenses ever made, it still cannot keep up with my prime M-mount lenses (Leica, Zeiss, CV) in terms of IQ. Also, while the 24-90 may be ideal for studio work, carrying it around on the street is a burden that I do not want to bear. Nevertheless, for those who want the speed of AF and the convenience of a zoom, there are few, if any, lenses that can match it. Just be sure to keep up your gym membership.

Rob

Aug 21, 2017 at 04:34 PM
waterden
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.4 #2 · p.4 #2 · Leica SL experience and also Q

I've decided to run with the SL, but only for manual lenses at first. I've always thought the whole point of Leica was its small but high quality optics, both M and R, and the SL offers a better platform for those with ageing eyes than the M10. Hopefully the new lenses will be more manageable than the initial trio but the decision to go for F2 rather than F2.8 won't help in this regard. With today's cameras offering high ISO potential (by which I mean anything over ISO 400) and bright EVFs I see little point in having such fast apertures anyway as their DOF is often wafer-thin and the cost of manufacture is disproportionately higher.