New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Digital Kodachrome - Post-processing critique

rparmly

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Digital Kodachrome - Post-processing critique

A little backstory: I got into photography about four years ago, right before my first son was born. The Canon 60D was my first real tool, and all I’ve known since I started shooting has been digital. Film has always had a certain appeal to me, but never such that I'd abandon digital and switch over. I love the freedom and flexibility of digital photography, but there is something about the character of film that grips me.

One film that I’m obsessed with is Kodachrome, the discontinued film from Kodak. The characteristics of the film are unlike any others I’ve seen, with a hard-to-describe depth and nostalgia that I’m struggling to capture with any of my digital files. Recently I’ve been working on some settings in Lightroom that capture the original beauty of Kodachrome, but don’t really trust my eye enough to know if I’m even remotely close.

The qualities I notice most in Kodachrome would be: 1) rich and deep warm colors, 2) slightly faded and perhaps even yellow-ish greens, 3) a slight blue cast to the film, though not such that it drastically cools skin tones, 4) high contrast without detail being lost in the blacks, 5) a subtle, fine grain.

Here are a few shots I’ve processed with the work-in-progress preset. I’d love to know what you think, and especially would love to hear from anyone who is more familiar with this film, with advice on what looks wrong with what I have so far.

PS: Not sharing these photos because they are anything incredible, artistically. They were just the ones I was using to develop this preset

Edited on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:26 PM · View previous versions

Jul 24, 2017 at 11:29 AM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On