Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              10       11       end

Hobby photographers eroding value of professional work?

secondclaw
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Hobby photographers eroding value of professional work?

As a hobbyist, I pretty much take photos for fun, even though I have what many would consider Pro grade equipment. I have tried - generally unsuccessfully - to sell any prints - even at 'face' value, so I don't really bother anymore. So when a local Toronto newspaper asked to print my photo from Toronto Pan Am Games 2015 (where I was a volunteer) I gladly consented - and have a nice souvenir of my photo on the front page of their paper. The photo was not from any of the events, just from public celebration by City Hall.

A while ago I and a fellow hobby photographer were approached by a Pro who complained about our attitude of giving away prints for free - as it erodes value of work that a professional photographer would try to sell. I can see the point of it, as for some this is a way to make a living, while to me it doesn't really matter. It does give me pause, yet to me, as a hobbyist, it is pretty flattering that a publication would choose my photo over a professional one.

So what do professional photographers here think?

Jul 10, 2017 at 01:15 AM
dhachey
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Hobby photographers eroding value of professional work?

secondclaw wrote:
As a hobbyist, I pretty much take photos for fun,

[Snip, snip...]

So what do professional photographers here think?