New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Tips for wedding announcement photo shoot

ben egbert
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Tips for wedding announcement photo shoot

My grand sons photographer got double booked and he has asked me to do his wedding announcement photos. I was always ready to do it, but because I am clueless about how to pose the couple, I told him he should have a pro for this task, but in the lurch I am filling in.

1. They will choose the location with my advice on time of day for best light. I have some experience with fill flash if required.

2. Probably going to an alpine location with tree meadow foreground and mountain back ground. Around 10 AM with light at our back or side. I know to avoid making this a landscape with people in it, maybe some shallow dof?

3. What I really don't get is posing. We always see the advice to have them tilt their heads. Is this just the heads or the entire body? A lean or a post processing rotation (need to allow room for it).

4. Straight on or with them at an angle? My grandson is a big boy.

5. Full body or from say the waist up, or some other place,

6. I hope to have them with no direct sun and use fill flash. Maybe some dappled light, depends on what we can find.

Looking for any suggestions, this happens Sunday Morning.

Jul 06, 2017 at 10:39 AM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Tips for wedding announcement photo shoot

ben egbert wrote:
6. I hope to have them with no direct sun and use fill flash

If you are talking about on camera fill flash, please, please don't do it! Flash on camera fill is just about the ugliest light there is. Actually it's not lighting, it's illumination.

ben egbert wrote:
Around 10 AM with light at our back or side.