Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Shooting elderly folks at a nursing home? Any tips?

rek101
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Shooting elderly folks at a nursing home? Any tips?

I think I have a decent sense of what activities I'd like to feature (dinner, bingo, board games, stuff like that) but I don't know anything about lighting or poses that tend to work best with senior citizens. Tools I have to work with are:
1. One flash
2. Window light (it will be during the day)
3. One small softbox and an umbrella
4. a 24 to 70 2.8, a 135 f/2, and an 85 1.8
5. Manual triggers
6. Very little talent, but I'm willing to read, practice, and learn.

Any simple tips or ideas would be appreciated. I'm not a pro...I take the photos for the newsletter at a nursing home where I volunteer. Obviously a lot of what happens at a nursing home is depressing, but a lot isn't so I'd like to just give things a friendly, wholesome feel.

Jul 03, 2017 at 05:41 PM
Dragonfire
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Shooting elderly folks at a nursing home? Any tips?

Personally, I would avoid the flash and shoot everything natural light in a unseen photo journalistic style so the residents don't even know you are there.

If they want a group shot they will tell you.

I would use a 35L but you could push your iso and use the 24-70.

Have a good time.

Jul 03, 2017 at 05:59 PM
rek101
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Shooting elderly folks at a nursing home? Any tips?

Dragonfire wrote:
Personally, I would avoid the flash and shoot everything natural light in a unseen photo journalistic style so the residents don't even know you are there.

If they want a group shot they will tell you.

I would use a 35L but you could push your iso and use the 24-70.

Have a good time.