Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Olympus EM1.2 - Shooting at "Low ISO" (64) - Fe...

James Farrell
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Olympus EM1.2 - Shooting at "Low ISO" (64) - Feedback?

I've owned my two EM1.2s now for about 5 months after shooting high end Nikon gear for 10 years, all of which I've sold. So, I am by no means a m43 expert and I am still learning some of the more subtle nuances of the m43 systems, and in particular my Oly gear with which I am very happy.

Lately I have started to notice some postings on different M43 forums in which some points were made about shooting at "Low ISO" (ISO 64) on the EM1.2 instead of the base ISO of 200. Some posts suggest less noise and even some suggest better DR at ISO 64. Now, from all that I've learned over the years and from what info I've been able to find online suggest that shooting below base ISO has some subtle disadvantages (aside from the obvious implications of much slow shutter speeds). Otherwise, manufacturers would include low ISOs in their normal range of ISO specs.

So ... curious ... I took a few test shots today and compared some ISO 64 vs ISO 200 shots using my 300/4. I am not posting them here because any subtle differences get lost in the uploading process and jpeg compression. That said, it seems like the ISO 64 test shots looked just a 'teensy weensy' bit better, cleaner and sharper than the ISO 200 shots. So now I am wondering what the downside is of "Low ISO" (assuming I don't need a high shutter speed). Would any of you who have experience in this area care to comment?

Jun 26, 2017 at 07:27 PM
formula4speed
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Olympus EM1.2 - Shooting at "Low ISO" (64) - Feedback?