Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

D4s or D500

Shane Psaltis
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D4s or D500

I know this is a camera question or opinion not a sports post but since I am a sports photographer and know most of you on this thread I wanted your opinions and why? I am on the fence to buy the D4s or the d500 and wanted to know which you think is better and why.

Aside from the D500 costing a lot less and getting more MP, I am torn to the fact of the durability.

Spoke to my bud Palesse and I have his thoughts but want to hear yours.

Thanks
Shane

Jun 23, 2017 at 05:51 PM
Weasel_Loader
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D4s or D500

I would always sway toward the full frame D4s. If you know you'll be cropping your images often using a D4s, than you might consider the D500.

Steve Perry has written and done tons of videos on this subject and has explained this decision better than anyone else I know.

They both have their places and will always depend on your type of shooting and lenses you'll be using.

Jun 23, 2017 at 06:13 PM
PureMichigan
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · D4s or D500

The correct answer is, "it depends." But that's a cop out.

I had a D4S and switched to a D5. I have a D500 as my second camera, so I have some basis for an opinion. But I need to know more. What do you shoot and at what level of play? How often? What kind of glass do you have?

Even before you answer those questions, I will say this: I loved my D4S and if you NEED full frame and a rock solid daily-use body, it's just superb. But the leap forward in focus speed and accuracy on the D5(00) really has to be tried to be appreciated. I'm now spoiled. I would have a hard time giving that up.