FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Thunderhead Prong, GSMNP

CreationBear
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Thunderhead Prong, GSMNP

Whether it's fly rods or camera gear, this small trib of Little River has always made for a convenient proving ground for me here in the Smokies. In this case, I'm just starting to learn about my Pentax 67 (shooting Velvia 50 in this case--lens is a venerable Super Tak 105/2.4)

Any thoughts greatly appreciated--I'm especially just getting a feel for a "hybrid workflow" PP.

Jun 19, 2017 at 03:55 PM
Ernie Aubert
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Thunderhead Prong, GSMNP

I find the greenish-yellow cast to be distracting... and I seem to be alone in not liking to see moving water robbed of all its character by long exposures.

And bring on the fly rods - cane, of course!

Jun 19, 2017 at 05:09 PM
CreationBear
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Thunderhead Prong, GSMNP

Ha, you'll be happy to know I've taken many rainbows from that little plunge pool with my Payne 100 clone over the years.

At any rate, I'll have to study on the "hue" issue a bit--the original film stock's "white balance" was skewed even more toward "yaller" but I'm not sure if that's going to be a consistent problem with Velvia in these rhododendron culverts. (FWIW, Velvia is way slow with a CPL, so one second or longer exposures are probably a necessity for those conditions where its 4-stop DR works at all.)

Thanks for the comment, and tight lines!

Jun 19, 2017 at 06:42 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Thunderhead Prong, GSMNP

The green cast should be easy to correct in post processing. And as to the water, I also don't like the look of super long shutter speeds as all detail then gets robbed from those areas and it no longer conveys movement as a shutter speed in the area of 1/5th of a second would.