New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · LAB Color Mode?

Coltrane
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · LAB Color Mode?

While I have worked in Photoshop for many years, I've never investigated the LAB color mode until recently. I've tried it on a handful of photos and find the results quite interesting. Since I'm new at this, I was wondering if any FM members have extensive experience using LAB? Are there certain types of photos that work better with LAB than others? Also, from your experience, are there any tips or recommendations that you would give someone just getting used to this color mode? Thanks in advance for your responses.

Jun 16, 2017 at 10:50 AM
Peter Figen
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · LAB Color Mode?

Lab is perhaps the most powerful color space you can work in but it's also more of a sledgehammer with not nearly the finesse of RGB or CMYK. The two best resources regarding Lab color are Dan Margulis' two books on Lab. I recommend the first one The Canyon Conundrum to start with, which will give you the tools with which to work effectively and hopefully help you understand when to use Lab and when not to.

Jun 16, 2017 at 01:51 PM
John Wheeler
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · LAB Color Mode?

Hi Cadaver

One important factor is that before switching in to Lab mode, if you are already not in 16 bit mode, I suggest you to switch to 16 bit mode. You run the risk of posterization and banding because "a" and "b" color channels are quite wide compared to standard RGB editing color spaces. The banding does not occur on all images remaining in 8 bit mode except for the ones already prone to banding such as slowly varying gradients.

Just a suggestion

Jun 16, 2017 at 08:02 PM
Coltrane
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · LAB Color Mode?