Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Lens Distortion? Help me understand the finer points...

cdgerston
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens Distortion? Help me understand the finer points...

With many years of reading lens reports and forums like this one, I have a vague understanding of terms such as "Decentering" "Field Curvature" "Wave and Mustache Distortion" and etc...But I'm not sure I could spot any of them and confidently label them in a picture. But, I do sometimes see mysterious (to me) distortions or areas of unsharpness I can't explain. This photo is an example, and I'm hoping someone can help me understand what I'm seeing. I have plenty of experience shooting, and know what I'm doing with apertures and depth of field (but not always lighting with flash, which I was experimenting with in this photo...save that criticism for another time :-) ).

I've attached a fairly large jpg here in hopes that people can see what I'm talking about. But, below is a dropbox link to a full size jpg to see it closer.