FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Pros & Cons: associate photographer vs. subcontracting

MN_Migrant
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Pros & Cons: associate photographer vs. subcontracting

I've recently started working for a large, successful studio. Currently, I work as a subcontractor, but the studio has asked if I'd be interested in working as a part-time associate.

Admittedly, I'm a bit naive going into this from both the standpoint of a subcontractor and associate. And unfortunately, there is not a lot of discussions about this (here on FM, or on the internet) from the subcontractee standpoint. I'm wondering if anybody would be willing to help me identify the pros and cons, and more generally, share any wisdom they might have.

In my mind, the important considerations include:

Tax considerations
Pay
Freedom/flexibility to say no on dates I don't want to work
Wear & tear on my gear (as an associate I'd use their gear)
Need for insurance

Jun 03, 2017 at 03:05 PM
MN_Migrant
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Pros & Cons: associate photographer vs. subcontracting

I should also note: by subcontractor, I mean that I am NOT an employee of the studio and receive a 1099-misc at tax time. I show up, shoot a wedding, and bill for my time. By associate, I mean that I AM an employee. I have a regular schedule, shoot a lot of different things, use their gear, and help out with overflow editing.

Jun 03, 2017 at 03:08 PM
hardlyboring
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Pros & Cons: associate photographer vs. subcontracting

I don't think either is better or worse. Just depends on what you feel like doing.
Perhaps the associate job has more job security?
Honestly if you will make the same money either way it may be better to just sub out so you can shoot and then be done and not have to worry about any other BS.

Jun 03, 2017 at 03:16 PM
nolaguy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On