Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

end

Question about subject isolation.

mitchel674
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Question about subject isolation.

Another vote for a used Nikon 70-200mm, f2.8

I've been shooting my kids playing soccer for the past 18 years. Separation and your position are key to make your photos stand out. Those little soccer fields are packed together and surrounded by distracting background elements all set out there to ruin your photos. A good, fast (f2.8) lens on FX is your only hope. I shoot my 300mm, f2.8 even on the little soccer fields.

Don't forget, some of the best action when they are young is away from the ball.

May 18, 2017 at 02:16 PM
schlotz
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Question about subject isolation.

love the capture Mitchell

May 18, 2017 at 10:05 PM
UCDEngBoss
• •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · Question about subject isolation.

Buy the best quality 70-200 f2.8 you can afford. This should be considered a work horse of a lens for you and not just for sports. This focal length will come in handy for indoor shooting, portraits of family, events, labdscapes, etc. It is a lens that I expect to own for the rest of my life and I use it for much more than its primary use... youth sports.

May 24, 2017 at 04:55 AM
sk66
• •
p.2 #4 · p.2 #4 · Question about subject isolation.

Lauchlan Toal wrote:
Background blur depends on the distance your subject is from the background, the aperture, and the focal length (and the actual diameter of the aperture).

Excellent post Lauchlan, but I think it's worth including subject distance as well... at any given distance the 200/2.8 will have a little less than 1/4 the DOF of the 50/1.8, and the 300/2.8 will have something like 1/6. In fact, I think it might be the most significant factor in this scenario. I.e. as the subject moves farther away and closer to the BG the 50/1.8 gains no advantage...

May 24, 2017 at 01:22 PM