FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       end

Wimberley Sidekick

sjms
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Wimberley Sidekick

there are many ballheads that will do just that. there is no exclusivity or superiority related to the Arca Swiss product.

i have used my Sidekick on my Markins M10 RRS BH55 and BH40.

Oct 19, 2017 at 11:26 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Wimberley Sidekick

I've been using my Sidekick on a Manfrotto 468MG head, for many years.

Oct 19, 2017 at 04:07 PM
JBPhotog
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Wimberley Sidekick

SoundHound wrote:
The Sidekick/Ballhead is a versatile and compact combo for those who typically use a ballhead. However, optimum results are realized with heavy lenses. Something like a pro body and 70-200 F2.8 will not balance well. If you are a regular of supertele user a Wimberely full gimbal is the best.

Hmm, not sure how you have yours set up but my Sidekick and Foba Superball balance just fine with a Pro body Nikon and my 70-200 F2.8 VR II. Mind you, I have an RRS L10 plate on the lens foot so I get more front extension for perfect balance. It is my goto setup for studio head shots leaving the pan lock loose on the Foba and the tilt loose on the Sidekick for rapid realignment when the subject moves around.

Oct 19, 2017 at 05:36 PM
ross attix
• •
p.3 #4 · p.3 #4 · Wimberley Sidekick

This is incorrect. No stress on the lens mount. I have used a sidekick a lot with 400 2.8L IS version 1 with no trouble.

DGC1 wrote:
I have heard it said that on heavy lenses it puts stress on the lens mount as they were designed to be held from the bottom, not the side. Don't know if it's a fact or not.

Oct 19, 2017 at 06:17 PM
nugeny
• • • • •
p.3 #5 · p.3 #5 · Wimberley Sidekick

JBPhotog wrote: