New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Frankenlenses from Brooklyn.

DavidBM
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Frankenlenses from Brooklyn.

Well I've just ordered a fixed lens rangefinder lens that has been salvaged from a non working camera and grafted onto an E mount. Here's a link to one very similar to the one I ordered:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bundle-Sony-NEX-adapted-Olympus-35-G-Zuiko-1-1-7-f-4-2cm-LENs-SONY-E-mount/262944726040?_trksid=p2481888.c100675.m4236&_trkparms=aid%3D111001%26algo%3DREC.SEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20160908105057%26meid%3Dfd2362f63b9a46da907d4cc08fa024bf%26pid%3D100675%26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D15%26sd%3D172247414606&_trkparms=pageci%253A550d3ead-2c70-11e7-98e1-74dbd1804bfb%257Cparentrq%253Ab70beace15b0aa1621698582ffff48de%257Ciid%253A1

A bit of background: I had an Olympus 35SP when I was a grad student in the late eighties. It was already a semi historical classic then. It was a beautiful beast; a spot metering rangefinder with a big beautiful rangefinder and above all a wonderful, 7-element G-Zuiko 42mm f1.7 lens. That thing was not useless centrally at f1.7 and I recall it being really sharp stopped down. I had a lot of images I cherish from it, even if my skill back in the day was not that great.

There's been a bit of hype since: I've hard people call the lens the "Summiluxacron" claiming that it has the speed of the summilux of the period and the IQ of the summicron. I have no idea if that hype is justified.

But I will be in a nostalgic way thrilled to have the old 42 1.7 back again, this time on my Sony. I won't care if the hype is nothing, it was't that pricey and the sentiment is enough. But if it is good it'll be very useful - I love 40mm lenses and I don't currently have one - though I will be tempted by the CV 1.2 when it comes out if it is centrally useful at 1.2 and critically good stopped down.