FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro & Still Life | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Need help with shooting watch Faces

epalanb

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need help with shooting watch Faces

Hi Guys,

I am somewhat new to Macro, not new to photography. I have been tinkering with macro and with photographing watches and watch parts for the past several months. I started out really bad, but have improved a lot. I have gotten some pics that I am happy with, but I still have a ways to go. One area in particular that I am struggling with is when I am trying to photograph watch faces/dials straight on without any reflection. I am using a light tent, a tripod, a Canon 2.8-100 macro (non is)

Under the best of circumstances I still see a reflection of the camera in the pic. Any ideas of how to avoid that?

Here are some pics of my setup and a pic of what I am talking about.
Here is my lightbox set up

And with the lights

And a pic of what I am talking about. See the reflection of the camera between the center of the dial and 4 o'clock? It could be worse (and it was for me a while back) but it certainly could be better too!

Thanks for any suggestions

Apr 27, 2017 at 06:07 PM
LordV
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need help with shooting watch Faces

Can only suggest positioning the lights or use some shading to prevent any light spill on to the camera.
In the example shot you also have some blown highlights.
Brian V.

Apr 28, 2017 at 01:00 AM
e6filmuser
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Need help with shooting watch Faces

What you need is a black tent for your camera, or some other way of keeping light off it.

Reflections off glass may be cutout by a polarizer but the ones off metal probably will not.

Professionals who photograph screens with highly-polished metal in them (e.g on fire engines) spray the metal with an aerosol of fine, oily mist. I don't know the details. That suppresses the shine.