New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Shutter speed, round up or down?

hulk2006
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Shutter speed, round up or down?

So I just bought a Fuji GW690iii camera which doesn't have a light meter. I bought a Sekonic light meter. As you can see from this photo the camera only has certain shutter speeds to choose from:

Say the light meter says to use F4 and shutter speed "320", am I supposed to round up to 500 or round down to 250? What's the general rule? I'm new to light meters.

Apr 18, 2017 at 04:08 PM
cambyses
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Shutter speed, round up or down?

hulk2006 wrote:
So I just bought a Fuji GW690iii camera which doesn't have a light meter. I bought a Sekonic light meter. As you can see from this photo the camera only has certain shutter speeds to choose from:

https://burntembers.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/img_4182-2-e1447718422876.jpg

Say the light meter says to use F4 and shutter speed "320", am I supposed to round up to 500 or round down to 250? What's the general rule? I'm new to light meters.

Are we talking ambient light or flash light here? If it is the latter, the shutter speed shouldn't matter as long as you are staying below your flash sync speed (which as I understand is 1/500s for your camera), and your light is dominated by flash. You can also see that on your Sekonic light meter when you change your shutter speed on the light meter and you will see your measured aperture setting will remain at f4.

If it is the ambient light you are measuring, and you are limited by the resolution of your shutter speed setting, then I guess there is really nothing you can do, except to just decide whether you would want your image to be slightly darker (underexposed) or brighter (overexposed), and round your shutter speed up or down respectively.